5 Overlooked News Sources

After expressing distaste with the major news networks (CNN, MSNBC, Fox, etc.) and newspapers like the New York Times and the Washington Post, I set out to find some better news sources that had better, let’s say, “journalistic integrity”. Let’s start with two better known sources:

The BBC

The BBC is massive, and, to my eyes, provides a much more balanced view of coverage around the world. I use it primarily for my general news source for everyday news coverage, and it does that very well. I highly suggest that people ditch their CNN or Fox or MSNBC feed and subscribe to the BBC’s: it doesn’t just focus on “American” issues and presents unbiased accounts of global news.

The New Yorker

Though it came under fire for their cover a few weeks ago, time and time again I’ve turned to the New Yorker for good, quality commentary and reporting. If it’s in doubt, check out these two articles: Boundary Issues | Preparing the Battlefield.

Now for three less well known sources…

Dandelion Salad
Dandelion Salad hosts a lot of excellent treatises and reports from various writers around the world wide web, and hosts posts from the Termi-Nader, Ralph Nader. The reporting is NOT what you’d find on the previously mentioned websites; these are original ideas/commentary that’s very, very in depth and enlightening. Check it out.

Information Clearinghouse
Information Clearinghouse became one of my favorite news sites for “underground” information after the good folks at Dandelion Salad linked it. Call it conspiracy theorizing, call it propaganda, it is very true. Don’t be fooled by the kind of ugly front page: all the reporting and analysis is top notch. Calls out the failings of politicians from both parties with equal gusto, which is very appreciated.

The Real News
I came across this on my own about 4 months ago, and was pretty skeptical of its reporting and its ability to accomplish its mission: totally member funded news with no government interference. Let’s just I’m not a skeptic anymore, and I particularly like their interviews alongside their reporting. Again, this is, in fact, as its name implies, real news. There is no concern for ratings and the like, and that really shows in the reporting, which is clear, concise, and, above all, the truth.

  1. Wow, thanks for including Dandelion Salad as a news source, much appreciated. I also go to the other sites you mentioned for news.

  2. I read the BBC daily or many times a day, Brett – I personally feel you can’t beat it.

  3. I appreciate this list, Brett. I, too, am less than enamored with the major tv news media, and have read the beeb for a while. You’ve introduced me to some new ones, thanks.
    Hope you’re having a wonderful vacation! I see you have that rascal Will blog-sitting; good for you!

  4. Dandelion: anything I can do to get you guys more readers. I’ve loved what I’ve seen so far, obviously.

    Will: That’s why I turn to the BBC for all my average news. When I want in-depth stuff (which is quite often), that’s when I turn to everyone else.

    Muse: You’re quite welcome. And thanks for the well wishes.




Leave a Reply

