Incompetence, Part 2

Yesterday, I experienced my disgust for those who are incompetent, but aren’t done away with because they are the administrators. Today, it is not necessarily incompetence that I talk of, but competence.

One of the oldest adages ever repeated is, “Practice makes perfect”. The idea is, as we do something more, we get better at it: whether it’s muscle memory or whatever, it happens (if we use proper “technique” for those activities that require it). If you read a lot, you’ll become a faster reader (though most people peak). If you play the piano a lot, you’ll get better at it. If you workout a lot, you’ll get stronger (provided you do it properly). Again, the more we do something, the more progress we make, and the better we get at it.

So, since I’ve sort-of established that the more you do something, the better you get at it, I should ask what is the biggest incentive for somebody to do anything?

Liking it; taking pleasure and pride in doing something. The more you like something, the more likely you are apt to do it, are you not? So, perhaps, one can infer that the more you like something, the more you are likely to be good at it.

And maybe this is the root of incompetence: their lack of passion for whatever they’re doing makes them incompetent. They don’t have sufficient experience in what they do, or, perhaps, their apathy causes slowed progression in their job. The malaise for what their doing bleeds into their work, degrading everything they do. All because they don’t particularly like what they’re doing — and affecting everyone they’re working with.

Maybe it’s because people don’t know what they really want to do, chasing whatever they want on a whim. Or maybe it’s an obsession with the bottom line — the income — and they just pursue what they think will rake in the most money, not doing what they really want because they’re afraid that that line of work won’t provide them with enough money. Or they’re just not interested in anything and haven’t really found their passion in life. Whatever the case, the people who don’t like their jobs don’t just hurt themselves: they also hurt everyone who encounters them because of their sheer incompetence. Maybe it’s fair to say that some that don’t like their jobs are competent, but the vast majority are not, because of the aforementioned apathy and disinterest.

So, is the cause of incompetence an inability to find something that we love to do — and can get paid to do?

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

  1. in a way, you could say that. i’m in a job i thought i would like, but i don’t because of several factors, the biggest one of which is my co-workers. it’s been 3 weeks but i still feel like i don’t fit in. i’m doing something about that, but the fact that i feel like i don’t belong makes me feel no ounce of passion for my work.

    i’m the sort of person who can find passion in her work, given that i do it many times to the point i’m good at it, and i enjoy the working environment and its people. i could do the suckiest job and still like it if i get along with my co-workers. of course, i won’t be totally passionate about my work, but it helps that i enjoy myself there and that makes me want to be some semblance of competent to ensure i get to keep the job and the friends made!

  2. Right! I think it comes down to: if you like your job, you’ll succeed (ignoring how lucrative it is), and if you don’t, you probably won’t.

  3. Good point, Brett – (sorry for not posting earlier on this) – I say good point because you have, in a way, hit the nail on the head – let me explain.

    I am one that believes that education should be taught all through life, you never stop learning. In a State, if run by me, education would be paramount from a distinctly early age to retirement. But that education would not be what we have today – it would be tailored to each individual. Added to that, as individuals change so should that education.

    Competence and incompetence are set in stone almost from day one – not because of the individual, but because of the establishment. If you are good at maths, focus on it, English or litrature, focus on that, native studies/history – that too, whatever the situation.

    How many times do we here the most successful people say they really are not doing a job but a vocation?

    Just my 2 cents worth.

  4. I Vote for Will!
    Yes, indeed! The pleasure factor ought to be the focus, not an afterthought!!!

  5. thebeadden

    I had to laugh a bit. I know Blogging is not my ‘job’. But since I have one, it feels like a ‘job’ I have to do.

    I am not good at writing. Or the punctuation, the rules or the way everyone seems to make everything flow. Ease of reading.

    A few nights ago, I wondered why I am just not getting better at it. Other than simple laziness and not educating myself.

    I think it is because I really don’t enjoy blogging. (Having my own blog.)

    I love the fact I can talk to people I admire. People I can learn from. Or whatever. I like the communication. I just don’t like posting most of the time. But then there are things I want to say, or share. Things that I think should be given attention.

    I’m not ‘into’ writing. I can talk your ear off. Have great conversation in person. It just falls to pieces when I go to type it. And it’s just like you said. I’m not enjoying it. I was even thinking of closing it for a while and becoming a blog reader instead.

    I have so many interests that sometimes I think it is taking up time that should be going to other things.

    I know this is a bit off-topic. But kind of fits in to the idea of doing something just because and not giving it my all. And the fact that I am not getting better at it.

  6. Wow, great comment bead (the lengthier, the better)!

    My question is, then: why do you blog? Why not just surf around and comment on your favorites? I know you have an answer, but you may not be conscious of it.

  7. thebeadden

    Thanks Leap.
    I know why I continue to blog. It sounds horrible though. LOL!

    Are you ready for a novella?

    First – I have out of province family and it is a place they can see the stuff I make. One member makes her own jewelry too. That’s how it started out.

    From there I found all these great people and I really enjoyed what they wrote. I got tired of writing about beads all the time and there are issues I wanted to write about. Things I think aren’t properly covered by the main stream media.

    So, I have a place where I can write about those things. Maybe I’ll reach someone who didn’t know about anything about it.

    I find having a blog about one thing, attracts people ‘into’ that thing. Well, what good will that do? They already know. I don’t want to yammer on about the same thing as much as I don’t want to read about the same thing, day in and day out.

    Most of the blogs I read don’t talk about those issues, and people tend to want you to stay on topic. Which is normal. So I can’t just pounce in and yip about my issue! 🙂

    Another reason, just look at how long my post is! I might as well blog my answer to you, under “Why I blog.” I don’t want to take over other peoples blogs. It would even freak me out. 🙂 Who is that nutcase?

    I may not get much in the way of comments but I average about 90 hits a day. I’m reaching someone.

    So, I blog about my jewelry and bits of other things. Here and there I post what really matters to me. My views aren’t really popular. I don’t want to ram them down peoples throat or say they should think a certain way. But having the opportunity to shed some light is what keeps me blogging.




Leave a Reply

