The Maverick is Without Honor

Exactly three weeks before election day, and the McCain campaign is hanging by a thread and praying for an unprecedented shift in the polls. The grossly-misnamed “team of mavericks” has been in a free-fall from 30,000 feet ever since, say, the bailout and nationalization of AIG. Since then, Barack Obama’s steady gait has swayed many undecided voters into his hands, while John McCain played drama queen (possibly emulating his wife?), and “suspended” his campaign to get the bailout passed, all the while still running ads, despite promising not to.

The McCain/Palin ticket has been one of the grossest (or greatest?) examples of hypocrisy I have seen, or, at least, in politics.

Take, for example, McCain’s claim that he’d run a clean campaign, then proceeding to make tremendously controversial, dirty, and flat-out wrong claims about Mr. Obama (though, it should be said, Obama’s campaign hasn’t exactly been clean either).

The highlights of the campaign:

It began back in the primaries with Mccain singing about bomb-bomb-bombing Iran.

Who could forget a derisive McCain ad proclaiming that Obama’s one legislative accomplishment was sex-ed for kindergartners, which was debunked by FactCheck.org here?

Or, perhaps, the laughable ad that compared Obama to the likes of famous intellectuals Paris Hilton and Britney Spears? What’s possibly funnier than that comparison is that the ad implies that Barack Obama and his Democratic friends are responsible for higher gas prices due to their stance on offshore drilling, which was smart at the time (until Obama flipped flopped on it due to popular demand) — consider the EIA’s study released earlier this year. Ironic: Obama currently is the highest he’s ever been in the polls, and gas prices are the lowest they’ve been in a long time — I actually saw prices below $2.90 today.

Despite the aforementioned ads, the greatest (or worst) move McCain did was to put Alaska Governor and lipstick adorned pitbull, Sarah Palin, as his Vice-Presidential candidate, proof of his poor judgement. After seeing through the pretty face and folksy language, the press soon exposed her for what she really was: a proud ignoramus who did not have a grasp on anything related to national politics. It turned out her record as a reformer in Alaska was fabricated, and she has, instead, abused her power as governor and embarrassed herself in a series of interviews with Katie Couric, letting the public know that she doesn’t read a newspaper or magazine, or rather: she reads all of them.

Funnier still is John McCain accepting the nomination with Walter Reed… Middle School in the background, which shows the senility of the McCain campaign. I thought he visited Walter Reed. Shouldn’t he know what it looks like?

And, as of late, the McCain campaign has been able to do nothing but inspire fear and hate into the hearts of Americans, with cries of “Terrorist!” and “Kill Him!” (referring to Barack Obama) at his rallies. Lately, he’s been trying to put the genie back into the bottle, but, he’s still flubbed. Example:

Lady: [Obama]’s an Arab.
McCain: No, ma’am. He’s a decent family man and citizen that I happen to have disagreements on fundamental issues…

Does this joker think that Arabs are incapable of being decent family men? He didn’t say something along the lines of, “No, he’s not, and it wouldn’t matter if he was a Muslim anyway,” he just made a bigoted remark, if nothing else, playing on the American fear for Arabs after the events of 9/11. Islamophobia, anyone?

This team of mavericks has, indeed, proved that they are willing to go where no politicians have gone before: they have gone to extreme lengths to disparage their opponent while consistently dodging the issues. Perhaps that’s what mavericks do by being independent. But I’m not sure we should be praising them for being “mavericks” in the way they’ve been.

Bookmark me on delcious/digg/stumbleupon!

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

  1. I’ve been reading along for a while now. I just wanted to drop you a comment to say keep up the good work.

  2. beingajoe

    Great post. I hope that they dont pull anything to convince Americans that they are fit for office in the next three weeks.

    By the way, here is a website I found that shares all the Sarah Palin dirt to support Barack Obama!

  3. Marie: You’re lucky I allowed you to link on this page. If you’re simply going to state that I seem confused, you better bring some facts to back your statement up. That’s all I ask: I’m willing and delighted to debate you on these points.

    Jamie, Beingajoe: Thanks for the comments, they’re much, much appreciated. Thanks for the links, joe!

  4. mariestacey

    Just so we’re clear, I linked to my article because it gives quite a bit of information about John McCain that you are not informed on.

    You say McCain is not a hero, I say Barack Obama is a zero.

    But for the record, since you are so misguided, McCain is an American Hero. I’m not sure who you idolize, but real Americans admire those who sacrifice their lives for this country. Especially those that are held as a prisoner of War. You have no respect for military service obviously which lends me to believe you must have serious character flaws.

    If you need further comment or proof of McCain’s heroism, again, link to my blog. Hell, read the comments. I had some drone come on and talk to me about how John McCain ‘denounced’ his country which of course is not factual.

    I don’t care if you delete my comment. I’m not here to change the mind of the willfully ignorant. I’m here to campaign for the best candidate for President of MY Country.

  5. For the record: I said that the way John McCain has conducted his campaign is deplorable and strips him of whatever honor he earned as a soldier for this country, never mind his awful experience as a prisoner of war. To be sure, his service of this country was great, but it, in no way, qualifies him for the office of the presidency on that basis alone. I liked McCain up until he turned on his own ideals and his own concept of honor, starting with this campaign. He trashed it and went to new lows — THAT is why I do not like the man.

    By the way, who are you to decide what “real” Americans are and aren’t? I respect military service to the fullest extent; I am grateful for those who have the courage and bravery to do what I would not and defend this country. Just because John McCain was a soldier doesn’t exempt him from criticism, let’s get that straight. It’s not a “Get out of Jail Free” card by any stretch of the imagination.

    And I did read your post, and, quite frankly, it had no substance to it whatsoever — no links to articles that shed new light on McCain’s character. There is no information inside that I’ve not read before. That analysis, as that commenter pointed out, simply wasn’t an analysis.

    Oh, and if John McCain is going to let everyone know the names of the politicians who support pork, he better let the world know the he voted for the version of the bailout with tremendous amounts of earmarks.

  6. mariestacey

    Read the comments on the blog. Lots of sources there. Did you read McCain’s speech that I posted at the end of the article? I was unaware that every article I posted needed 16 articles following behind it.

    And for the record, the way John McCain has conducted this campaign shows that he is not letting Barack Obama slide with his unsavory rhetoric and lies. McCain has pointed out MANY flaws within Barack Obama but all you can do is complain that McCain’s being too harsh. Of course he’s being harsh he’s running for President of the United States and he has a backbone! I know if you’ve been watching Barack Obama you are not used to seeing anyone with a backbone speak. Obama has never been courageous. You can tell that just by reading his Call to Renewal Keynote Address. In this speech, he attacks his opponent Alan Keyes saying that he made unfounded accusations that he was not a Christian.
    http://obama.senate.gov/speech/060628-call_to_renewal/
    After he asserts that Alan Keyes made these accusations he had this to say:

    “But what they didn’t understand, however, was that I had to take Mr. Keyes seriously, for he claimed to speak for my religion, and my God. He claimed knowledge of certain truths.

    Mr. Obama says he’s a Christian, he was saying, and yet he supports a lifestyle that the Bible calls an abomination.

    Mr. Obama says he’s a Christian, but supports the destruction of innocent and sacred life.

    And so what would my supporters have me say? How should I respond? Should I say that a literalist reading of the Bible was folly? Should I say that Mr. Keyes, who is a Roman Catholic, should ignore the teachings of the Pope?

    Unwilling to go there, I answered with what has come to be the typically liberal response in such debates – namely, I said that we live in a pluralistic society, that I can’t impose my own religious views on another, that I was running to be the U.S. Senator of Illinois and not the Minister of Illinois.”

    Barack Obama is always ‘unwilling to go there.’ Doesn’t that show a lack of character and strong beliefs to you? Because it should. That’s what it is.

    I know what real Americans are because I am one! I’ll say what we believe because no one else is! The South is outspokenly pro-McCain…did you know that or are you brainwashed by the Mainstream Liberal Media too?

    Lol. “Wasn’t actually an analysis.” You think you can regurgitate his poorly constructed argument and then use it against me? I dismantled it once. Allow me to do it more clearly for you. God Bluth asserted that I was not analyzing polling results by juxtaposing 2 different results and then concluding that they are not similar and therefore cannot be trusted. If you don’t already recognize this, the juxtaposition and then conclusion constitutes an analysis.

    I love to hear you libs talk about the bailout. Did you skip through the section in the comments where I reveal the top recipients of Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac? No. Willful ignorance must be your game.

  7. If you can’t see the blatant hypocrisy of the McCain campaign, which was, after all, the subject of my post, you have no business trying to shove your own rhetoric down my throat.

    Of course there are flaws in the Obama campaign, but they are less egregious than those of the McCain campaign, which has fabricated things about Obama as a way to advance his campaign. Obama is willing to lose a war to win an election; McCain is willing to lose his dignity to win his election.

    And, as for the Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac numbers, it was my understanding that those were contributions from employees. You didn’t, by any means, dismantle my argument, unless you really are that deluded.

    Your talk of this massive MAINSTREAM LIBERAL MEDIA is laughable, at best: on par with some of the tinfoil hat conspiracy theories. I’m a real American too, and if you think otherwise, you’re, again, seriously deluding yourself. In fact, since you crossed that line, I think I’ll tell you to leave. Just leave this blog and never come back. I won’t waste your time on my “liberal” thoughts.

  8. for those who have the courage and bravery to do what I would not and defend this country

    Yes you could – you’re just not senseless. If it ever came to defending your country you would do it in a minute.

    mariestacey:

    Proof positive that the McCain mantra of “The wild west is alive and well”. Those like you are the reason the US is in the mess it is in – own your own mistakes – take them to the back and cash in your idiocy!

    John McCain is worse, yes WORSE, than Bush – and that is something I thought I would never say. He is a vile, vile man.




Leave a Reply

